Symposium C-2: August 30

Structure and physical properties of polymers in confined systems

We continued active discussion on structure and properties of nanoscale polymeric materials in confined system, quantum beam analysis of polymer structure and dynamics and novel polymer processing technology through the third day. We had more than 50 participants in each presentation. “Langmuir Award” and “Soft Matter Award” were provided to our symposium by courtesy of the ACS publications and Royal Society for Chemistry. The presentations, which is given by young researchers, were judged by the aid of invited speakers of our symposium and the symposium organizers (totally 17 reviewers from 5 countries) have selected following four award winners.


Langmuir Award

Aggregation States of Polymer Inclusion Complexes at Water Interface
Hidenobu TANEDA(Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan)

Precise Synthesis of Stereoregularity-controlled PMMA-b -PDMS-b -PMMA and Characterization of Its Molecular Aggregation Structure
Hitoshi SHIMAMOTO(Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan)

Soft Matter Poster Award

Preparation of High-Density Polyethylene Nanocomposites Well Reinforced by Cellulose Nanofiber Using Diblock Copolymer-type Dispersants
Keita SAKAKIBARA(Kyoto University, Uji, Japan)

Soft Matter Presentation Award

Interfacial Modifications of Thin Films by Preferential Segregation of Janus Macromolecules
Yukari ODA(Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan)

After the final day of session C-2. Many people stay until the end of the session.